Day 3 of “Media Meets Religion”

Day three of the Battle of Gettysburg was the climatic and final day of that battle.  Day three of our “Media Meets Religion” class is not our final day, probably not climatic, but it was very informative.  We were privileged to see and hear, by Skype, Neva Rae Fox from the Episcopal Church and John Brooks from North Park University and Seminary.  What they both shared with us I found valuable for my future ministry and it was a pleasure having them with us by using some of the new media we are learning about.  I learned much today but one thing that stands out is that to say “no comment” should never come out of my mouth if I am dealing with a crisis.  In addition, I learned some other strategies that I can employ when dealing with the media.

Again I am astounded at the amount of experience in using social media or the willingness to learn how to use it by my classmates.  I feel that I have gained sixteen new colleagues with whom I can share ideas, ask questions of, and connect with now and into the future. It is bittersweet for me to realize this is the “half-way” point of our class.  Shortly we will be coming to the end of the week and a separation, in physical terms, of our being in each other’s presence for nine hours of each day.  As any class that I have taken there is a beginning, a middle, and an end.  We have just come to and slightly past the middle.  The next two days I look forward to with anticipation and the wonder of what I will learn tomorrow and Friday.

When I go to bed each night I take a mental inventory of how my day went and what I learned, what worked, and what didn’t work in that day’s journey.  On good days I smile as I look back on the day and thank God for another day of life.   On not so good days I may not be smiling but I still thank God for the day.

Tonight I will be smiling. 🙂

Leave a comment